Feed me Feedly

The topic of this post is going to be my thought process behind my internet and blog consumption.

So, some things you may want to know about me:

  • I have at least 5 tumblr blogs
  • I have more than one blog on word press
  • I follow about 100 different threads on my multiple reddit accounts
  • I ingest about 20,000 memes a day to stay alive from multiple sources
  • I also follow a lot of artists on sites like Deviant Art
  • I have so many blogs and emails that I can’t actually remember all of them and I should probably try to delete a lot of them so I don’t take up 30 usernames across the web…

Anyways, the point I am going to make is that across all of my blogs, there are a few common themes:

  • Art blogs
  • Social justice news
  • Gay pride news
  • Things that make me feel happy and laugh (people being good people)

When I look for new blogs to follow, I look for people or sites that try to take up either a strong, left-wing stance, or people who try to provide equal perspectives from either side of the coin. I appreciate sites that can share stories that assume the stance of the atheist, yet can post a story from the perspective of an avid Christian the next day. This goes for any subject that I myself follow: I like seeing both sides to every story, and though my own opinion almost always leans towards a left wing liberal social justice side, my morals tell me that I must first attempt to understand the other, first. Sort of like, “Don’t knock it ’til you try it.” Within reason. There are some things I am not willing to try.

However, not all sites offer  stories from multiple perspectives, and that is fine too, so long as they do not deliberately say things like “Those who disagree are pigs!” I don’t like reading stories that are hateful. I don’t usually trust the source if it takes up a negative, hateful stance. I prefer blogs and news that I could consider “enlightening.”

Some of these are:

  • Edutopia
  • Edutech
  • TedTalks
  • NowThis
  • NowHer
  • Buzzfeed
  • Random assortment of art blogs
  • And more

These blogs provide me with new information about things I wouldn’t typically be able to experience firsthand here in Regina. Especially NowThis, which takes a proactive stance and shows many videos of people who are inspired by their passion to make a difference in the world. That’s the kind of stuff I look for.

That’s all for now. Thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

