When I said I was starting from scratch, I meant it

So I decided to go back and relearn some basic drawing skills purely to make sure I know exactly what I’m doing.

Perspective slays me. It ruins my life. It makes me want to sell all of my material belongings and move across the world to live in the bush. It is the absolute worst. Which is exactly why I decided to improve on my perspective drawings.

One-point perspective is easy as pie: 

31887062164_930339b7cc

Two-point Perspective isn’t so bad either: 

32680770766_b4939c700f

It’s three-point perspective that kills me:

Image result for three-point perspective

This can be found here

So, three-point perspective drawings get a little weird. At least to me. It may have more to do with the fact that I’m convinced that I can’t do it. So, I tried anyways.

unnamed-1

 

I focused on applying perspective drawing to drawing comics because that is my end goal. In the book, “Freehand Figure Drawing for Illustrators” by David H. Ross, he lists not only ways to create these perspective drawings, but the different effects that you can achieve in your comics by changing the perspective up a little bit. In my sketchbook I took notes on it, and recorded things like “Low-angle view is created by putting horizon line low, or below the image area. AKA Worm’s-eye view.” With a worm’s eye view (looking up at the character from ground level), it makes the character look big and sometimes more powerful. It denotes a courageous attitude, or a challenging one. This kind of pose at this kind of angle is excellent for courageous main characters who are ready to face any challenge!

High-angle views help us as readers get the sense of being above what is happening in the comic. It almost puts us in the position of God, allowing us to see everything that is happening from above. We are not overwhelmed by the characters courage, we are looking on them from above and merely observing.

unnamed

 

Now, this is my attempt at three-point perspective. It wasn’t the best, but I’m still trying to understand where to place the vanishing points in order to get more organic varieties of perspective. This one isn’t so bad, but depending on how close you put the vanishing points around the image area (because sometimes they are way off the page) changes how realistic the angles look. If the points are too close, the angle becomes a lot more dramatic. If they are further away, they look more natural but are more difficult to draw. Here’s an example of a dramatic angle:

unnamed-2

I was trying to create what Ross calls the “Figure box.” It’s a rectangle that is divided into 7-ish sections to assist in the foreshortening of the human figure. The angles on this box are a lot more dramatic than the other rectangle I drew in 3pt. perspective. It looks so weird, to me as if I did something wrong, but I can’t tell what I did wrong. Anyways, I need to master drawing this simple rectangle, and then master drawing the human form in it so that I can draw humans at any angle in any position. That is the goal.

This is all for now. I’m going to continue to practice basic perspective drawings so that it becomes quick and easy for me, then I will be trying to create an image using what I have learned.

Leave a Reply

