Starting from Scratch

I’m starting my learning project journey as of right now! The project I’ve decided to dedicate myself to is learning how to draw the human body. I want to create my own comic some day but in order to do that I need to learn the following things:

  • How to draw proportionate bodies
  • How to draw diverse bodies
  • How to draw dynamic poses

This is something I’ve always wanted to improve on but have procrastinated for essentially my entire life. I’m also taking an art class in which I get to explore my own style but before I can do that I need to learn the basics of how to draw the human body.

Here’s what I can already do:

I’ve already got some experience in drawing people. My issue is that I always draw people in the same 3 perspectives: a side profile, a front profile, and a slightly off-centered profile. I want to be able to draw all sorts of people in all sorts of poses. I want to learn how to draw hands and feet. Essentially, I have a lot of things I want to get better at. I have no specific end goal, because this journey could take longer than four months.

These are some of the resources I’ll be using:

freehand-figure-drawing

I’ll also be watching YouTube tutorials from Sycra’s channel. 

Specifically, I’m starting with this video:

Sycra first suggests in this video to warm up with some fluid sketches of poses.

Here is my attempt:

warm-ups

While these poses generally look okay, I know that if I were to try and go in and add details it would become difficult because their bodies are not quite proportionate.

However, this is the first time in months that I’ve been able to motivate myself to draw anything. I’m very pleased that I finally broke free of my art block that has been weighing me down for so long! I went ahead and did one more sketch to start my project off:

That concludes my first post for my learning project! Thanks for reading!

One thought on “Starting from Scratch

  1. Pingback: Keys Keys Keys | Frances Kurtenbach

Leave a Reply

