Clear Directions Will Always Be An Excellent Idea

This week I got the opportunity to teach Arts Ed yet again! I have been loving the chance to create lesson plans that build on one another as the weeks roll by. This week we focused on perspective and scale.

I created a PowerPoint again that we went through at the start of the period, and showed the students examples of perspective and scale. The images were similar to as follows:

Photo Credit: timbobee via Compfight cc

After each picture, I would ask them to describe how the picture was taken. I used pictures of the First Nations University of Canada as well, and took a moment to talk about how the design of the building has no corners, which I am proud to say most of the students knew had to do with the First Nations beliefs. We talked about that for a bit, then looked at various perspectives of the First Nations University, and how subjects in the foreground and background could make the university look bigger or smaller. From there, I introduced the assignment and asked the students to bring up an object and place it on my table. Big mistake! I didn’t ask them to do it quietly, nor did I set a limit on how many items I wanted. The class went a bit crazy and started bringing up way too many items, or items that were too big or too small, or just ridiculous. Now I know for next time that I should give clear directions BEFORE I tell them to get up and move around instead of trying to give them those same directions while they’re already moving around! It took me awhile, but I eventually got the students to calm down again, then explained the lesson.

Students had to pick two of the however many objects, and try to create an example of scale or perspective. For example, if they draw a pencil sharpener in the foreground, it will look significantly bigger than the stool in the background. A lot of students did a pretty good job of the assignment. To give the students more options, I told them they could incorporate what we learned about complimentary colours, and could colour the picture if they had time to do so. I also told them that it was due at the end of class.

Probably due to the fact that it was the very last period of the day, the students were all very rowdy and I had to put my foot down in regards to telling them to be quiet. They kept getting loud and getting up and running around and disturbing other students, so I had them all sit down quietly and explained to them, “I’ve asked you to sit down and not disrupt your fellow students 7 to 8 times now. That is no acceptable, and I should not have to say it that many times. Make sure next week that when I ask you to work at an acceptable noise level, you do it.” They all looked very sheepish and sad that I seemed upset with them. I wasn’t actually upset, I just had to let them know that I would not let them push their boundaries that far, and that I meant it when I asked them to be somewhat quiet. (Not completely silent, but not explosively loud either.) The lesson went well other than that! It look like this will be my last Arts Ed lesson, and I will get the chance to teach social studies next week. I’m excited to try a lesson in something I am not completely comfortable with, but of course I’m nervous, too.

Thanks for reading,

Frances

Leave a Reply

